Marine Patrol

Marine Patrol

The Franklin County Sheriff’s Office has jurisdiction over the navigable waterways within its boundaries, including the Columbia and Snake Rivers which border the west, south, and east of Franklin County. The Snake River patrol area begins at Lyons Ferry and goes to the mouth of the Columbia River, whereas the Columbia River patrol runs from the White Bluffs boat launch to Sacajawea State Park.

We have several trained Marine Patrol deputies, and are responsible for all search and rescue missions in the county. We work closely with Columbia Basin Dive Rescue and the Benton and Walla Walla County Sheriff’s Office Marine Units for patrol and emergency response. 

The sheriff’s office has two boats for patrol and responding to emergencies. In 2022 we traded in our old jet boat for a new flat bottom vessel for use in shallow water rescues and as our quick response vessel.

The Franklin County Marine Patrol Boating Mandatory Education

State law requires most operators of motorboats with 15 horsepower or greater to get a boaterMarine Patrol 2 education card. Boat operators who were born before January 1, 1955, are exempt. Boat operators of other ages are being phased in.

To see when you are required to carry a boater education card, visit the Washington State Parks and Recreation website.

View the Official Washington Boater Safety Handbook.

Sample Boater Education CardWhen Do I Need My Card?

  • 2008: 20 and younger
  • 2009: 25 and younger
  • 2010: 30 and younger
  • 2011: 35 and younger
  • 2012: 40 and younger
  • 2013: 50 and younger
  • 2014: 59 and younger

Get your Boater Card online! Persons required to have a Boater Education Card must carry it on board whenever operating a motorboat with 15 horsepower or greater.